Combat Roleplay - The Game of Loss

JustMeMorgan

Combat Roleplay

Image result for Fantasy duel

What is CRP

Combat Roleplay (CRP) is simply roleplaying in a battle or fight, swords, spells, punches. It is a portion of the server that is quite fishy and flexible, this guide aims to simply refine it to something better

The Idea of Losing

Combat roleplay is the act of fighting things out, this means that there has to be a winner and a loser, many players try to win – which in itself is not bad – however some escalate and exaggerate their own abilities to do so, desperate moves and attempts of which isn’t the worst thing to perform, however, some players will almost push near the boundary of powergame to do so, this I believe is because of the idea of winning, every player wants to win, every player believes their cause is stronger than the other, when sometimes this is not the case. I won’t lie as a writer I have also fallen into this trap, I’ve had times where I had my neck bleeding out and still tried to win when in hindsight, I should have simply accepted the fate. This doesn’t mean I’d PK of course, the reason LoTC has a clause saying you don’t have to PK is in my eyes for this reason, players in my eyes are meant to die, there will always be something that has a bigger cause, mayhaps a demon trying to gain more power by consuming you, or a necromancer killing you for more lifeforce to sustain themselves, the stories of a character does not have to end on a death, merely change slightly. Death in LoTC should be seen as a normal consequence of roleplay, not a disaster. Players in my eyes should still fight for their lives but not break boundaries to do so

The Unfairness Clause